AA genome group

The AA genome group comprises all the cultivars that have two sets of chromosomes inherited from Musa acuminata. Genome groups are part of the nomenclature system developped by Kenneth Shepherd and Norman Simmonds. AA cultivars are often called edible diploids to distinguish them from wild species, which are also diploid.

AA cultivars have been largely displaced by the generally more productive triploid cultivars but are still cultivated in Malaysia, Indonesia, India, Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands. Their fruit are generally very sweet. Most of the cultivars in this group have not been classified into subgroups.

See also on this website